Too Much to Do

It’s Sunday! I love Sunday, the one day of the week I don’t feel rushed and overwhelmed, because it’s the day I deliberately take it slow. Church, lunch, a nap or a good book, some jewelry design ideas…. no work, no dashing around, no list too long to get done in one day. Yeah, most of the stuff on my list are good things, things that need doing, things that I can do, that I want to or need to do, but stilll…. whew.

So, I recently read something on line that really spoke to me, from Renee Swope’s book, A Confident Heart:

“I know all of life is screaming for your time, but instead of giving your divided attention to many good things, commit to setting aside time each week to walk through the process of finding God’s things for you. A confident-in-Christ woman wants to know who God created her to be. She is comfortable saying no to some things so she can say yes to living the life God wants her to live. She is intentional and secure about pursuing the spiritual purpose God has for her.”

And that’s what I want. I want to walk in Ephesians 2:10: “For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” I want to be ready for what Pastor MM calls “divine interruptions”. I want to be the woman God created me to be. I know if I stick to His ways and His plans, I’ll have all the time I need. God, make it so! And now, it’s nap time…..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Too Much to Do

  1. Kay Moser says:

    What a great quote, Betty! We all need “permission” to say “No,” and you’ve discussed the best guide we should use for determining how to spend our days. Thank you!

    Kay Moser
    http://www.kaymoser.com

Leave a Reply

