Maple Tree Meditations

ImageI love maple trees, so when we moved into town years ago, I was thrilled to discover one in our front yard. (Mark, the leaf raker & gardener, was less thrilled…) Each fall I am thrilled all over again by their glorious colors and each spring I’m entertained by the little seeds spinning and whirling all over and planting themselves in the most inconvenient places. Years ago my friend Jenny’s maple tree inspired me to write a poem about maples, after seeing the thousands upon thousands of seeds that were carpeting her driveway. (Nope, not exaggerating – come see our driveway. And our yard. And our roof.)

Maple Tree Meditations

Swirls of vivid color
falling to the ground,
death in glorious splendor,
praise without a sound;

Countless life abundance
covering the earth,
seeds of brown preceding
the greenness of new birth.

Surely, if God can do this for a tree,
if I let Him, He can do the same for me.

–         B. Winslow

You know, if it were up to me, I’d design trees that dropped a handful of seeds, just enough to make sure the forest would continue. More than that seems – well, wasteful, really. But God designed them to overflow, producing far more seeds than are needed for survival, an overwhelming number of seeds – just because. It’s a nice visual demonstration of Ephesians 3:20: “Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think…”

Yep, I love maple trees…. and the One Who created them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Maple Tree Meditations

  1. Karen says:

    That picture and your poem reminds me of Robert Frost-
    Two roads diverged in a yellow wood
    and sorry I could not travel both…….etc

    Lovely … thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

