Operation “Move Daddy Down the Hall” a success!

DSC06887We moved my dad today, from a one bedroom apartment to an efficiency apartment (or as my British sis-in-law calls it, a “bedsitter”) right down the hall. After weeks of sorting, tossing, boxing, planning, and moving furniture on paper, my two brothers and our spouses descended on Dad today, armed with boxes, rolling carts, a dolly, and two pick-up trucks.

Three hours later, everything was moved and all that’s left is minor cosmetic organizing, disposal of a few more things (some books, files, magazines, and the like), and final labeling of shelves and storage boxes. It was a huge job, but we managed it in three hours, with no bloodshed or raised voices. I do believe in miracles, thanks for asking….

However, it did leave me with a case of the twitches, as I consider what it would be like if our children had to do the same for us. We have way more stuff than we need or use. I haven’t set any 2013 resolutions, but if I did, one would definitely be, “Go through  every room and remove stuff we don’t need/use/like and pass it on.” There’s always Goodwill, Global Connection [a local parachurch group that ministers to foreign nationals who attend college here in town], The Daughter Project [a local parachurch group that ministers to girls who have escaped sex trafficking], the public library…. I’m sure there are other places we can bless, too. Maybe my 2013 verse needs to be 1 Tim. 6:6 –

But godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into the world and we can take nothing out of it. But if we have food and clothing, we will be content with that.”

But – I think I’m too attached to my stuff. I know I am, really. And I’m definitely surrounded by too much. God is not a God of chaos, and He doesn’t want us to live in chaos, either. I need to figure out how to make our house and its contents reflect God’s order and creativity. Operation “Order in the Winslow Home” will commence in 3…2…1… GO!

Pray for me…..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

