He Knows Your Name

Every time I’ve read through (slogged through) the book of Numbers in the Bible, I’ve wondered, why? Why is this huge list of who begat whom in here at all? Why is it that important? (It has to be, since it says in 2 Tim. 3:16-17, “Every part of Scripture is God-breathed and useful one way or another—showing us truth, exposing our rebellion, correcting our mistakes, training us to live God’s way. Through the Word we are put together and shaped up for the tasks God has for us.” But why??) Who cares, at this point? They’ve all been dead thousands of years!

But my last trip through, on one of my sporadic attempts to read straight through the Bible, I realized something: He knew them. God, the Creator, knew each of the people listed – name, background, lineage. Thousands upon thousands of people and He KNEW them! And He knows me, too, just like that. And the best, most amazing part is, He knows ALL of me and yet, He still loves me. There’s a mind-bending thought to be going on with….. and if that’s not enough, try this: 

“For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them.” – Psalm 139:13-16

crowd

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

